About

Gates Insurance Agency was founded in 1964 by William M. Gates III. William Gates was a former member of the South Kingstown Town Council, past president of the South Kingstown Lions Club, past deputy chief of the Union Fire District and was involved in numerous other local organizations throughout his career.

In 1998 David R. Gates became president. Once situated on Columbia Street in Peace Dale, Gates Insurance moved to its current location at 238 Robinson Street in Wakefield, the Old Wakefield Post Office, in 2008.

Aaron Gates, University of Rhode Island graduate, joined the agency in 2016.

We are an independent insurance agency located in Southern Rhode Island. Just a few miles away is the University of Rhode Island, one of the state's largest employers.

Gates Agency represents many A rated insurance carriers and our service is second to none. We are members of the Independent Insurance Agents of Rhode Island (IIARI) and Trusted Choice, an organization perpetuating the values of independent agents.

Our Staff

Rachel Curran, Receptionist
rachel@gatesinsurance.com • ext. 105

Melanie Bell, Personal Lines Client Manager
melanie@gatesinsurance.com • ext. 110

Susan Wright, Personal Lines Client Manager
susan@gatesinsurance.com • ext. 111

Chelsea Champlin, Personal Lines Sales
chelsea@gatesinsurance.com • ext. 109

Donna Fossa, Commercial Lines Client Manager
donna@gatesinsurance.com • ext. 107

Monica Eddy, Commercial Lines Client Manager
monica@gatesinsurance.com • ext. 106

Jay Harrington, Account Manager
jay@gatesinsurance.com • ext. 104

Tasha Lingenfelter, Operations Manager
tasha@gatesinsurance.com • ext. 102

Aaron Gates, Vice President
aaron@gatesinsurance.com • ext. 108

David Gates, President
david@gatesinsurance.com • ext. 101